Circulation & Check-out

Get a Library card

You can use your library card anywhere in South Central Library SystemYour first library card is available free of charge! Your library card is good at any South Central Library System public library in Wisconsin that serves Adams, Columbia, Dane, Green, Portage, Sauk and Wood counties.

To get a library card,

  • Come into the library
  • Show current photo identification such as a driver’s license or state ID card
  • Show proof of residency such as a driver’s license, checkbook, utility bill, or recent piece of mail with your current address printed on it
  • A parent or guardian must be present to apply for a library card for children under the age of 16.

Our library card applications are available online in English (PDF) or Espanol (PDF) and at library Circulation desk. A fillable application (PDF) is also available. 

Please inform us about any change of residential address, phone number, or email address. If your card is lost or stolen, call 608-835-3656. You are responsible for any items checked out using your card. A replacement card costs $1.

See our Circulation Policy (PDF) for more information.

Loan Periods

You can check your LINKcat account for the due date of items you have checked out.

  • 28 days for non-fiction, regular fiction books, audiobooks and non-fiction DVDs
  • 14 days for new fiction, lucky day books, CDs, video games, and magazines
  • 7 days for DVDs (except non-fiction)

Fines

  • 20¢ per day for adult materials including non-fiction DVDs (except DVDs and videogames/software noted below)
  • 50¢ per day for DVDs (except nonfiction DVDs)
  • 50¢ per day for videogames
  • No fines on overdue children's or teen materials

Oregon Library patrons with senior citizen status (65 and over) are not charged overdue fines for any materials, but are still charged for lost or damaged materials. If charges exceed $20 borrowing privileges will be suspended.

See our 2019 Fines and Fees Schedule (PDF) for more information.

Return & Renew

Renew library materialsMaterials may be returned to the Circulation Desk or to the book drop. Items returned to the book drop before the library opens, will be checked in as if they were returned the previous open day. Items borrowed from one South Central Library System (SCLS) library may be returned to any other SCLS library.

Most materials can be renewed up to two times if there are no hold requests pending. Renewals can be made in person, through LINKcat, or by calling (608) 242-4700.

See our Circulation Policy (PDF) for more information.

LINKcat

LINKcat iconYou can check your library account online. Review a list of materials checked out and their due dates, renew materials, place holds for materials, or check the status of your holds by accessing your library record in LINKcat

Your library card barcode and PIN number are required to access your record. For help using LINKcat, go to the LINKcat Help page or call the library at (608) 835-3656.

Outerlibrary Loan

If you can't find an item in LINKcat, we may be able to borrow it from another library outside our library system and lend it to you through a process called Outerlibrary Loan (OLL). There is no cost for recieving materials through OLL.

To request an OLL, visit, call (608) 835-3656, or email orelib@oregonlibrary.org information on the item you'd like. The information that we're looking for is on Outerlibrary Request Form (PDF). Before requesting an OLL item, please read the Outerlibrary Loan Policy (PDF).

Authorize Others to Pick Up Library Materials

The library is not able to release your materials to someone else if you are 16 and older, unless the person who is picking up your materials has your library card or if you complete a form which authorizes them to do so. Complete the Holds Authorization Form (PDF) and we will put a note on the record(s) of the person(s) you designate as authorized to check out your materials. The Holds Authorization Form is available at the library Circulation desk if you are unable to print from home.

If your child is under the age of 16, their library materials may be picked up by the guardian designated on their account. 

See our Circulation Policy (PDF) for more information.